The New Likeness Of Being Something

Ended up not gaming last night, I think a couple of the players had their wires crossed and didn’t show up. So, on that note I ended up going through some old game systems, leafing through some adventures and jotting down notes on others. Though, an inkling of an idea hit me and I decided to write down, map out a town for a Murphy’s World adventure.

Murphy’s World is a defunct role playing game by Peregrine Press. It’s a humourous techno-fantasy setting much akin to say; Terry Pratchett’s DiscWorld and The Shrek series of movies; also add in a lot of old fashioned Saturday Morning Cartoon shows with a lot of pop cultural references and there you have Murphy’s World. A world where anything can go wrong whenever possible.

So a story arc of three adventures popped into my noggin and I jotted down several notes on what I like to see happen during the course of play and mapped out the town roughly, populated it with unique buildings and characters and added a huge clock tower in the center of town, this is where another idea for an adventure spawned that involved the clocktower and I went with it.

One thought on “The New Likeness Of Being Something

  1. I enjoy the whole process of setting scenes and seeing what ideas spark from seemingly innocuous details within them. It is probably what keeps me going when gaming is thin, and gives me the most pleasure when we game regularly.

Leave a Reply

