Post Apocalypse Blues

I’ve been re-watching the Mad Max series of movies, instead in chronological order. I’ve started with Fury Road, then Beyond Thunderdome, followed by The Road Warrior and finally with Mad Max. Don’t ask me why, I just thought it would be a cool thing to do.  Then I decided following those up with The Book of Eli, The Road, and capping it off with Waterworld.

Basically, what I’m trying to do is come up with a good hook for an Atomic Highway campaign setting. AH is an excellent little game inspired by Mad Max movies and a lays out the foundation of the game with the mechanics and an introductory to the world of it; and it’s up to the Game Master to mold the foundation in the image that they want it to be.  Do I want the AH world to be a sandy, gritty, world of deserts and sandstorms or a green lush world consumed by mother nature and overrun by vegetation? Or maybe a little from column A and a little from column B?

For the past two years now I have a player that’s been trying to get me to run it for them, instead of him running it for me. Since he had all these plans and idea floating around in his head and finally he just doesn’t know how to pull it off. I told him just to do so with a wing and a prayer like I always do. So, once the current Conspiracy X campaign reaches it’s inevitable climax. I decided to run Atomic Highway for a one-shot or two to give it the ol’ college try.

Maybe, just maybe I should do a snow covered world with ski-doos! SnowWorld… or something like that?

012

Leave a Reply

