Obsidian: The Age of Judgement

DSCF2357

It was in 2000-2001 that my buddy introduced me to this game. He had picked up a copy of it and had handed it over to me to read through since he knew I was always hip to the post apocalyptic role playing games. As soon as I cracked open the book and took a quick glance through it I knew that I would end up picking up the game (as well as two supplements for it) and adding it to my collection.

The mechanics are simple and consist of a dice pool of six sided dice. The higher the number the skill has, the greater the chance of success the character has. Considering the average citizen of the Zone has a 2 for each attribute (and therefor each skill). This means that for every roll two six sided die are rolled to attempt to accomplish any action.  Compare that roll to the basic difficulties: Effortless 3, Simple 6, Moderate 9, etc…  and viola there it is in a nutshell.

The premise of Obsidian – The Age of Judgement is that Hell has been unleashed on Earth and that mankind has constructed a vast fortified city to hold the daemonic hordes at bay. Though, within the city, corporations vie for power, kults carve a bloody swatch through the streets and technology has grown to encompassed the limits of the flesh. It’s a post apocalyptic cyberpunk world and there are not only things outside the city that want to see you dead… it’s whats in the city as well that can kill you.

I’ve been mulling over a one-shot scenario to run at Cangames now for a few years and I think I just might run this one in 2017.

 

One thought on “Obsidian: The Age of Judgement

Leave a Reply

