Unlocking Memories with Living Steel

living-steel

Imagine my surprise when the wife entered the door stating there was a parcel waiting for me on the steps. I wasn’t expecting anything yet, but to my surprise there was a box waiting for me to open it. The content of the box were some role playing games and the one that I was truly looking forward too was the box set of Living Steel High Tech Role Playing Game.

Living Steel is a role playing game my buddy, Tim C, had picked up because he liked the concept of the game. The rules where a little clunky and that was fine, since the whole premise of it was an alien invasion on a colony world. Tim had the game and he ran two sessions of it and we had fun, but really he wasn’t to keen on running it since he wanted to be a player and do the exploring from the other side of the screen.

So, he passed the game onto me as well as the adventure KViSR Rocks! And then I ran a couple of  sessions and it was a real fun as well. Once that was over and summer was coming to an end and we both were heading back to further our educations. I was going to North Bay, ON and he was heading back down to Toronto, ON. He had handed me the box set and said that I’d probably got more of a kick out of it than he ever would.

Over the years my original box set demolished, and I had lost a couple of booklets for it as well due to a series of moves from one location to another. So, I thought I’d never get my hands on another Living Steel box set again, though I was glad to find a hard copy version of the book at Cangames just last year. Until now, I have the box set in my hands once again and this time a wave of nostalgia washed over me as I remember my good friend Tim C.

Tim had passed away a few weeks back, even though we had lost track of each other over the years we had connected over Facebook and messaging relieve old times and keeping in touch in general. The news of his passing hit me like a ton of bricks, a piece of my past had broken off and to fix that I wanted to see if I could find another box set of Living Steel just to have on my shelf for old time sakes. So I hunted and hunted until I did managed to find one

I’m glad I did. Tim C. may be gone… but he will never, ever be forgotten.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

