The Traveller Way

Advanced Dungeons & Dragons was the first role playing game that I got into when I first started gaming back in 1979. It was a pretty fun the few sessions that I played and the adventure ended when we finished the module. I really don’t know what module the GM ran but it was pretty good and had a couple of Frost Giants in the end.

If my memory serves me correct, the next role playing game that I got into was GDW’s Traveller (It was either this or a session or two of Metamorphosis Alpha than we went to Traveller). Since both RPG where sci-fi it’s easy for my memories to blend them together. But, anyways I was hooked on Traveller the moment we started to create characters and my first character had died during the process of character creation.

This shocked the hell out of me and I was wondering what the hell I did to piss off the Gamemaster and he showed me the rules stating that the more terms your character goes through the more likely he/she is going to die before they even make it to the first adventure. Well, instead of erasing everything on the character sheet and start over again. He let me keep my stats and just try a new career in which I only took one term.

It was pretty damn fun.

Creating is a big part of Traveller! I loved creating worlds and planets, cities and spaceports, alien races and creatures, and… well you get the picture. I had created an entire galaxy one summer. I don’t even think the players had a chance to explore it all. I ran a few sessions where the players went to a couple of planets and explored but it didn’t  go beyond that since we all got involved in an epic AD&D campaign and my Traveller world sat on the back burner never to see the light of day once again.

By that time the Spinward Marches and The Third Imperium were the default setting and my little universe (well if you can call several duo-tangs of hand written material and drawings of solar systems little) sat on the shelf gathering dust.

When I eventually moved from home to further my education, to seek my fame and fortune elsewhere from the little town that I lived, I took what I could with me at the time. Basically, my role playing rule books and a duo tang or two of stuff for each. And my Traveller universe stayed at my parents place, I thinking I would eventually pick them up again. But, over the years they got misplaced and it simply vanished into a black hole.

Leave a Reply

