Text Based Gaming

Yesterday, I had stumbled upon a hand drawn map I had did for The Rose: Council of Guardians. It was for my own record and possible use for Tunnels & Trolls as well since it was a easy role playing game to get into. There was also a support site for The Rose with a lot of ASCII maps as well and I managed to grab a few of them so I could use it to find my way to important locations and rest areas to heal up.

Let’s just say my fingers danced a lot over the keyboard back in those days as well. When I took up resident in this small town here in 1992 there where five (sometimes six) BBS’s and one one was busy you just connect to another. And for those who don’t know about the bulletin board system, here is what Wikipedia has to say about :

A bulletin board system, or BBS, is a computer server running software that allows users to connect to the system using a terminal program. Once logged in, the user can perform functions such as uploading and downloading software and data, reading news and bulletins, and exchanging messages with other users through email, public message boards, and sometimes via direct chatting. Many BBSes also offer on-line games, in which users can compete with each other, and BBSes with multiple phone lines often provide chat rooms, allowing users to interact with each other. Bulletin board systems were in many ways a precursor to the modern form of the World Wide Web, social networks and other aspects of the Internet. Low-cost, high-performance modems drove the use of online services and BBSes through the early 1990s. Infoworld estimated there were 60,000 BBSes serving 17 million users in the United States alone in 1994, a collective market much larger than major online services like CompuServe.

Indeed, it was a strange and magical time back then. That’s when I discovered The Rose: Council of Guardians on one of them. By this time I had my fill of Legend of the Red Dragon and was looking for something more to explore and to grow upon, and with The Rose you could do just that.

I had created a couple of characters and one of them advanced up in levels and then one day the BBS I frequented was gone it went the way of the dinosaurs. And over the years I had forgotten about it, until the other day when I was skimming through some duo-tangs of gaming adventures that I had written up and discovered the World of Corinthia and some of the ascii maps of South City Forest, Satyr Woods, Imperial City, Quentin and Spalango and decided to re-imagine them in a new mapping program. I know I had added in a few other places since I was thinking of running a Tunnels & Trolls campaign using this kingdom…. places like Lando Lake and Misfitville to give players more options to explore.

But, looking at my notes had stirred up some memories of long hours on the computer tying up the phones lines that’s for damn sure.

Leave a Reply

