Gamma World (1st Edition): My Map

My Map of Gamma World South West
My take on Gamma Terra

Long before there was “Meriga” mapped out in the second edition with some really cool phonetic spelling of some names. There was the original box set with a big map that had some mountains, volcanoes, rivers, and location of ruins. It wasn’t coloured and was there for the game master to draw on to make the futuristic world the way they saw it.

When the cool looking Erol Otis Referee Screen came out, it had little adventure called The Albuquerque Starport. I had built up the South West with some names I thought would be cool for a town, discovered by the settlers on a sign or something like that in nature. Since GW was a science fantasy setting, and since I was heavily into Advanced Dungeons & Dragons as well. I had set up a realm where California use to be.

Taken cues from the cover of the box set.

GW1st

It shows what appears a group of Pure Strain Humans investigating a ruined city. The city itself is consumed by mother nature and a huge pit which either was a volcanic hole or maybe radioactive zone.

I fell in love with this game from the get go. It was my go to game when we where not playing Advanced Dungeons & Dragons and I would sit and write up towns, adventures and map out underground “malls” and old subway tunnels for the players to explore.

Dusting off the box set and some of the materials I had written up for it, I stumbled upon a map that I had roughly drawn up. So, with a new mapping program I figured I’d give it the make over and make it look a little bit more presentable.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

