Boot Hill RPG: Eldorado County

Eldorado County Map for Boot Hill RPG

My take on Eldorado County (@1981)

I must admit that I really do love the 2nd Edition of Boot Hill Role Playing Game of the Wild West a heckuva lot! Back when I got my grubby hands on the box set and didn’t want to draw on the huge map of Eldorado County, I had sketched it out by hand and marked in the places where I saw fit.

There where many adventures to be had there back in the day; exploring, uprisings, range wars, looking for lost gold, gunfights at the Semi-Okay Corral, and so on. I had even thrown in a rampaging dinosaur in it as well (this was inspired by the classic film Valley of the Gwangi which I saw on a Saturday Afternoon movie).

Over the decades my original Boot Hill box set went the way of the Dodo, the box being flattened, misplacing the huge original map and the saddled stapled rule book fell apart. But, my notes have always been with me. I’m glad to have re-acquired another 2nd edition box set a few years ago. Thanks to my eldest daughter who happened to stumble upon it at Cangames and she picked it up for me as an early birthday present.

So now I’ve redrawn the map from the original which I had done circa 1981 (and amended back in 83-84 when Burned Bush Wells came out). Originally, Burned Bush Wells was where the Lodge Pole Trading Post was, then retconned later (but I didn’t think that made any difference in my campaign at all).

I didn’t use all the names from the main rule book and I added one or two more just for a little spice. I had a railway going across the county as well. From Mad Mesa to Brewster. The mapping program didn’t have tracks and it’s mainly a fantasy world maker to begin with but I didn’t mind.

I do hope to run a few adventures in Eldorado County sometime in the near future. I sure do missed the place.

Leave a Reply

